At a Glance
- Blood and Ice is a free expansion for Dune: Awakening, Funcom’s open-world survival game.
- It launches December 1, 2026 on PC, PS5 and Xbox Series X|S.
- The headline addition is the Polar Sink, a frozen northern region to explore.
- Funcom is also adding a cosmetics store, events, and an offline single-player mode.
- The base game launched for PC on June 10, 2025 and for consoles on September 22, 2026, when a single-player mode was also added.
Funcom confirmed on October 29, 2026 that Dune: Awakening will receive a free Blood and Ice expansion on December 1, 2026, and coverage from Rock Paper Shotgun, KeenGamer and MMOChronicles followed within days. The expansion is seasonally pitched — a frozen-north counterpart to the game’s desert core — and, unusually for a live-service survival title, it bundles in an offline single-player mode that addresses one of the genre’s longest-running complaints about preservation and always-on requirements.

About the Game
Dune: Awakening is an open-world survival game from Funcom (with NUKKLEAR co-developing vehicle gameplay), published by Funcom and Spike Chunsoft in Japan. It is set on Arrakis, the desert planet of Frank Herbert’s Dune, but in an alternate timeline: the Atreides survive under Duke Leto, locked in a long “War of Assassinations” with House Harkonnen, and the Fremen have vanished after a Sardaukar purge. The player is a Bene Gesserit undercover agent tasked with finding the Fremen and “waking the Sleeper,” while the opening is narrated by a Paul Atreides who, in this timeline, was never born.

Survival on Arrakis
The core loop is classic survival, but reskinned to the Dune fiction:
- Water and stillsuits: Players must manage a thirst level and maintain their stillsuits to survive the heat.
- Spice: The most valuable commodity in the universe is competed for, harvested and transported; players can become addicted to it and unlock related abilities, then farm and sell it.
- Sandworms: Making loud noise attracts the worms, which can permanently swallow dropped items and vehicles. Thumpers can lure them, but they cannot be casually summoned.
- Environmental danger: Frequent sandstorms, quicksand, daytime heat stroke and nighttime Sardaukar patrols all pressure the player.
Character customization, mentor selection (such as the Bene Gesserit “Voice”), scavenging and base-building round out the sandbox. Travel between regions happens via an Overland map, and the Deep Desert serves as the game’s primary PvP zone — capable of holding hundreds of players and reshaped weekly by Coriolis storms.

A Live Roadmap
Funcom has framed Dune: Awakening as an ongoing service: regular free “Chapters” advance the story, paired with optional paid DLC. The Deluxe and Ultimate editions bundled the first four paid DLCs via a season pass. The first major update — Chapter 2 and the The Lost Harvest DLC — arrived on September 9, 2025. Blood and Ice is the next step in that free-chapter cadence.
What Blood and Ice Adds
The offline mode is the detail drawing the most attention. Survival MMOs typically require a server connection, which means a game can become unplayable if live support ends. An offline single-player option is a meaningful step toward game preservation and gives players who want to explore Arrakis at their own pace a way to do it without depending on the live service.

Reported specifics
- Who: Announced by Funcom; co-reported by Bandai Namco Europe and covered by Rock Paper Shotgun, KeenGamer and MMOChronicles.
- What: A free expansion adding the Polar Sink region, events, a cosmetics store, and an offline single-player mode.
- When: Announced October 29, 2026; launches December 1, 2026.
- Not specified: Exact scope of the offline mode (e.g., whether it includes the full map or a curated slice) was not detailed in the initial coverage.
Why It Matters
Most live-service survival games treat offline play as a contradiction. Funcom leaning into it for Dune: Awakening signals a shift: preservation and player ownership are becoming selling points, not afterthoughts. For a genre built on persistent worlds, that is a quiet but important pivot.
The free-price positioning also matters. Funcom is using Blood and Ice to re-engage lapsed players ahead of the holiday window rather than gating content behind a paid expansion — a retention play that fits a game whose long-term health depends on a stable population.
What to Watch For
- How robust the offline single-player mode actually is at launch (full world vs. curated area).
- Whether the Polar Sink region introduces new survival mechanics or reuses existing systems.
- Player reaction to the cosmetics store balance in a free update.
Sources: Funcom press center and Bandai Namco Europe announcements (October 29, 2026); coverage by Rock Paper Shotgun, KeenGamer and MMOChronicles (November 1, 2026). Background on the base game’s setting and systems is drawn from the Dune: Awakening Wikipedia entry. Exact offline-mode scope was not specified in the initial reporting.
Editorial note: This is a news brief built from Funcom’s announcement and subsequent outlet coverage; it is not an independent review. “According to Funcom / reported by” means the claim originates with the developer and was relayed by the named outlets. PlayFox is an independent gaming editorial — read our about page and contact us for our editorial standards.
Your turn: Are you more excited for the Polar Sink region or the offline mode? And would an offline option make you more likely to stick with a survival game long-term? Tell us below.
The offline single-player mode is the feature I did not know I needed. A survival game you can still boot in five years is worth more than any seasonal event.
Polar Sink looks gorgeous in the developer video. A free expansion to pull lapsed players back for the holidays is a smart retention play from Funcom.
Curious how deep the offline mode actually goes. If it is the full map, Dune: Awakening just became one of the better-preserved live-service titles out there.